Neville Archambault Talks “13 Cameras”

Neville Archambault is an actor with quite a unique background. A worldly man with acting experience from across the globe, Neville recently starred in the horror film 13 Cameras, which is now playing in select theaters and on VOD. I recently sat down with Neville to discuss his performance as the film’s antagonist, Gerald, as well as trying to “make it” in the film industry.

13 Cameras

Blair Hoyle: How did you get involved in 13 Cameras?

Neville: The McManus brothers, Kevin and Matt, saw my acting reel and had me in for a reading.

One of the reasons 13 Cameras works so well is that the Gerald is such an unusual antagonist. What was your process like to get into that character?

Yes, Gerald is quite a role. When I read the script, I was blown away, I knew then my direction with the role. I built the role around the suggestion of his slack jaw. Everything followed: his voice, the limp. I loved creating Gerald, and with the help of Kevin and Matt McManus, it was a pleasure!

Perhaps Gerald’s most discernible characteristic is his poor hygiene. Was having to maintain such an unruly appearance ever bothersome, or do you enjoy getting into costume and makeup?

Yes, the suggestion is made in the film: he has a foul odor. From there, it was up to me to project that with the physicality, which I did! As a fitness person all my life, it, however, feels off-color carrying off such an unhealthy image. But I do like a challenge!

13 Cameras is a pretty grim movie overall, but there are some interesting moments of levity. Was that kind of humor present in the screenplay, or did it come out during the production?

Yes, it’s present in the screenplay. I, however, developed and added to the humor as I saw it. Like near the end of the film, I realized early on how I would play the ending. Of course, I can’t give away the film, so you’ll need to see how the humor played or not!

What was the most interesting on-set experience from the shoot?

The most interesting thing, I’d say, was the fact on most sets there’s a lot of ego to deal with. Like on a feature I did not long ago, “the ego” actually destroyed a wonderful project. A film is a joint effort and often times a producer or director—given their title—kill the project with a huge ego. It happens time and time again! Not with the McManus brothers. Kevin and Matt have an openness which allows ideas to be presented and attempted, which give variety that can equal success! That I found interesting, as it’s so rare in the industry!

You spent some time in Mexico working in television. What’s the biggest difference between the American film industry and that south of the border?

I love Mexico, and I lived there a long time. Mexico is part of my life. The difference between the two countries is the USA has union regulations which keeps an order, where Mexico has no union, so working there is often off the seat of your pants. Also, Mexico has the old studio contract system that Hollywood had long ago. So if you’re not a star, you’ll find yourself struggling, as you’ve no contract. It can be a double-edged sword, working in Mexico.

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to young actors trying to break into the film industry?

That’s a tough question! Because with the Internet, there’s this idea stardom is just a YouTube video away. It’s as if you don’t need to study to be an actor or work at it, as if it’s all about luck! It’s not a good message. Also, this is a question not easily answered, but if I had any advice it would be this: Study the best you can and shoot as much as possible. Look for indie projects and try and audition. If you’re looking toward working in film and TV, understand the image or persona you’re trying to market. It’s important these days, having a vehicle.

About Blair Hoyle

Blair Hoyle is a filmmaker, journalist, and party starter from North Carolina. His directorial debut, HAPPY ENDINGS ARE A RARITY was released in 2017. He currently resides in Austin, Texas.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a comment